Values and causes

Twenty Years of The Caine Prize for African Writing

A sparkling anthology of short stories featuring the first twenty winners of the Caine Prize, Africa's premier literary competition. Hardback. 320pp. Size: 194mm x 129mm.
In stock
Special Price £5.00 Regular Price £11.99

A jailer’s love poems ghost-written by a prisoner… Love blossoming between two girls despite the horror of their community… Street kids stick-fighting or stealing guavas from the rich… A dystopian world where women must go naked until they marry… Celebrating the twentieth anniversary of the Caine Prize for African Writing – often referred to as the ‘African Booker Prize’ – this collection showcases all twenty prize-winning short stories, each with its own unique take on modern African life. As Ben Okri says, in his special introduction for this anthology: ‘Whether in the cities or in the villages, whether it is in East or West or South or North Africa, something pulses through the varied and oddly unified life of the continent that lends itself to the framing that the short story excels at. Whether it is the celebration, the marketplace, the bus stop, the ritual, the family, the funeral, comradeship, grisly death, sexual awakening, the short story catches the experience, holds it at an angle, illuminates it.’ This celebratory collection includes: Leila Aboulela Sudan, 2000 Helon Habila Nigeria, 2001 Binyavanga Wainaina Kenya, 2002 Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor Kenya, 2003 Brian Chikwava Zimbabwe, 2004 Segun Afolabi Nigeria, 2005 Mary Watson South Africa, 2006 Monica Arac de Nyeko Uganda, 2007 Henrietta Rose-Innes South Africa, 2008 EC Osondu Nigeria, 2009 Olufemi Terry Sierra Leone, 2010 NoViolet Bulawayo Zimbabwe, 2011 Rotimi Babatunde Nigeria, 2012 Tope Folarin Nigeria, 2013 Okwiri Oduor Kenya, 2014 Namwali Serpell Zambia, 2015 Lidudumalingani South Africa, 2016 Bushra al-Fadil Sudan, 2017 Makena Onjerika Kenya, 2018 Lesley Nneka Arimah Nigeria, 2019 Published by New Internationalist (October 2019).

Hardback. 320pp.
Size: 194mm x 129mm.
ISBN: 9781623719357

More Information
ISBN 9781780265568
Manufacturer New Internationalist
Values and causes New Internationalist
People who liked this also liked …

More from this supplier

  1. One World Calendar 2024
    One World Calendar 2024
    Special Price £8.48 Regular Price £16.95